The War Memorial Library in Hudson is a non-profit registered charity providing a subscription library of printed and digital materials, primarily in the English language, to the residents of Hudson, Quebec and surrounding communities.Operated by volunteers, the Library is self-financing through membership fees, donations and fund raising activities. The Library in turn donates, to local charities, funds in excess of its own needs.The building and the Library serve as a memorial to those in Hudson who served in the Canadian Armed Forces.

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

March Book Sale










The March Book Sale starts at 2:30 pm on Monday, March 5th and runs until Saturday, March 10th.  Biographies and history books are featured.

Thursday, February 15, 2018

The Write Stuff - Jillian Cantor

Jillian Cantor graduated in English from Penn State University, and she holds an MFA from the University of Arizona. She is the author of award-winning novels for teens and adults, and the library has just acquired her critically acclaimed novel, The Lost Letter. This is a historical novel of love and survival,inspired by real resistance workers in Austria during the second world war. It centres on a mysterious love letter that connects generations of Jewish families. This heart-breaking and heart-warming novel will appeal to fans of The Nightingale and Sarah's Keys
Cantor lives in Arizona with her husband and two sons. To visit her online click here.

Thursday, February 8, 2018

Hudson Box Office (HBO) - The Good Karma Hospital

The Good Karma Hospital is a British medical TV series. Junior doctor Ruby Walker,( Amrita Acharia) becomes disillusioned with her life after a broken relationship, and decides to leave the UK. She answers a job advertisment for a junior doctor at a hospital in Southern India hoping to make a fresh start. She finds herself at an under-resourced and overworked cottage hospital, run by an eccentric expat, Dr Lydia Fonseca ( Amanda Redman ). The library has just acquired the first series. For more details click here.

Monday, February 5, 2018

Workshop on Writing Your Family Stories

Do you have a family story you’re itching to tell?
A family myth or mystery you’d like to sleuth out?
An heirloom that speaks to your heart, but you just can’t find the words?

Thursday, February 1, 2018

Murder Ink - David Jackson


David Jackson is the author of a series of crime thrillers featuring Irish-American NYPD Detective Callum Doyle.  Following the success and acclaim of the Callum Doyle novels, A Tapping at My Door is the first instalment of Jackson’s new series called the DS Nathan Cody book series.  The library acquired this novel.  Please remember to use the Suggestion Book at the Front Desk if you would like to read him more.


Jackson is married, with two daughters and a menagerie of animals.  To visit him online, click here.


Monday, January 29, 2018

Library Shoppe - Special Sale

Saturday, February 3rd




Jewellery 
     Sale 

Sunday, January 21, 2018

January - Fiction








The Rooster Bar
John Grisham







Click on title for more details:
Seeking Sarah   ReShonda Billingsley
The Lost Letter   Jillian Cantor
The Wilding Sisters   Eva Chase
The Last Mrs Parrish   Liv Constantine
Manhattan Beach   Jennifer Egan
The Designer   Marius Gabriel
Uncommon Type: Some Stories   Tom Hanks
The Other Alcott   Elise Hooper
Truly Madly Guilty   Liane Moriarty

January - Mysteries








Dead and Buried
Stephen Booth







Click on title for more details:
Friction   Sandra Brown
The Last Move   Mary Burton
The Midnight Line   Lee Child
The Lost Daughter   Lucretia Grindle
The Chill of the Night   James Hayman
The Scarlet Macaw   S.P.Hozy 🍁
The Naturalist   Andrew Mayne
Insidious Intent   Val McDermid
Sleeping in the Ground   Peter Robinson 🍁
Grantchester:Sidney Chambers and the shadow of Death   James Runcie

January - Non-Fiction








What It's Like to Be A Dog
Gregory Berns







Click on title for more details:
Yum and Yummer   Greta Podleski 🍁
Hello Cupcake   Alan & Karen Richardson
Leonardo Da Vinci   Walter Isaacson
Lit Up   David Denby
Walking with the Muses   Pat Cleveland
On All the Other Days   Clint Ward 🍁

January - DVDs







Testament of Youth









Click on title for more details:
Mercy Street Season 2
The Fall Series 3
The Glass Castle
The Good Karma Hospital Series 1
Joe Maddison's War
Poldark Season 3
The Wipers Times

January - Children's Books







The Paddington Treasury 
Michael Bond







Click on title for more details:
Cabane Magique - Le Secret de Leonardo de Vinci   Mary Pope Osborne
La Nouvelle Star de Sourisia   Geronimo Stilton
Quand on Parle du Loup   Veronique Caplain
Princesse qui avait presque tout   Mireille Levert 🍁
Roro Le Cochon savant  Gilles Tibo 🍁
Maxime a la plaine de jeux   Guido Van Genechten
Des Portes dans les Airs   David Weale 🍁
Dory Fantasmagory#1   Abby Hanlon
Dory Fantasmagory#3 Dory Dory Black Sheep   Abby Hanlon
Amulet Bk#4: The Last Council   Kazu Kibuishi
Amulet Bk#5: Prince of The Elves   Kazu Kibuishi
Whodunit Detective Agency#1: The Diamond Mystery   Martin Widmark
Whodunit Detective Agency#3: The Circus Mystery   Martin Widmark
Ask Dr Fisher About Animals   Claire Llewellyn
It's So Amazing!   Robie H Harris
Not Your Typical Dragon   Dan Bar-el 🍁
Three Little Owls   Quentin Blake
Olivia the Spy   Ian Falconer
Good Little Diggy Doggy..   Dale Hayes 🍁
The Heart and the Bottle   Oliver Jeffers
Up and Down   Oliver Jeffers
The Way Back Home   Olive Jeffers
Pete the Cat: Rocking in my School Shoes   Eric Litwin
Big Bear Hug   Nicholas Oldland 🍁
Sick Day for Amos McGee   Philip C Stead
Winnie's Amazing Pumpkin   Valerie & Paul Thomas
Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard#3   Rick Riordan

Saturday, January 20, 2018

February Book Sale
























The February Book Sale starts at 2:30 pm on Monday, February 5th and runs until Saturday, February 10th.  Mystery and romance novels are featured.

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Canada 150 Project

Our Canada 150 project concluded at the end of Canada’s 150 anniversary and it was a resounding success! A big “thank you” to all who took the time to nominate their favourite Canadian books – 112 persons named a total of 157 books, surpassing our objective of 150 books.  We are pleased to share some interesting findings from this project with you. 

The most popular books are Canadian classics: 
1.      Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery is the winner with six nominations 
2.      Two Solitudes by Hugh MacLennan, five nominations
3.      The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood, four nominations

These are perhaps our next classics, each nominated by three persons:
§  The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill
§  The Stone Carvers by Jane Urquhart  
§  Three Day Road by Joseph Boyden
§  A White Handkerchief and Other Stories by local author Serge Sabourin

The number of titles nominated per author reveals both contemporary popularity and classics.  Quebec’s well-loved author Louise Penny had eight of her 13 books nominated, while Margaret Atwood had seven.  Mordecai Richler, John Farrow (local author Trevor Ferguson) and children’s favourite Robert Munsch each had three of their titles chosen.

Essentially all categories were represented, with Fiction being by far the most popular.
§  Fiction                                                94
§  Non-Fiction                                        21
§  Fiction Mystery                                   18
§  Junior, Teen & Picture books              17
§  Biography                                            7

We can say with certainty that our Canadian authors are a prolific lot, producing books recognized for their depth and topicality not just to Canadians but to a global audience as well.  We are pleased to highlight these literary treasures and hope that our project has opened the door to new reading pleasures for you.  Our Canada 150 binder, with the complete listing of nominated books, remains on display at the library.